Conscious breathing

I literally put my pants on backward today. It was an instant reminder to slow down and live in the present moment–to be mindful. Why did I do this? I wasn’t in a rush-it was a leisurely morning. It’s really easy to live and work on auto-pilot, even when we have all the time in the world.

This is why meditation is so important. Meditating in the morning sets the tone for the rest of the day. If I meditate in the morning, I’m much more likely to practice conscious breathing throughout the day. I can respond out of fear at times, but I found that if in these moments, I tell myself that the only thing that matters is my breathing, I have a much easier time letting go and regaining my calm.

A beach sunset on Jeju Island, South Korea with the words Feelings come and go like clouds in a windy sky. Conscious breathing is my anchor. Thich Nhat Hanh, in the foreground

Beach in Jeju Island, South Korea

Then there’s meditating at night. This helps me let go of what has transpired in the past and calms my mind. Most nights, I start by calmly reviewing my day. I try not to attach any emotion to the events. Things that were ‘good’ before are now just things that happened–not something that made me feel a particular way. This also applies to things that were ‘bad.’ After doing that, I tell myself that I am going to breathe in deeply and exhale slowly. While I exhale, I will let go of the past day (sometimes week, month, year(s)). (I also add that I will be able to remember events if I need to, but they will not have any effect on me) It’s a simple, yet effective way for me to relieve stress and prepare myself to slip off to sleep.

Speaking of sleep–it’s time to call it a night.

514px-meditate_opelevate-svg

(Bryan Helfrich, Meditate opElevate, CC BY-SA 3.o)

READ:

Business

Sarah Jessica Parker And AOL’s Tim Armstrong On The New Rules of Engagement An interview with Sarah Jessica Parker and Tim Armstrong about risk, creativity, and the importance of connecting with consumers. “Not everybody gets to take risks. But it’s important to be curious.” -SJP (Fast Company)

How Celebrity Image-Makers Capitalise on the Red Carpet A brief look into one aspect of the world of celebrity stylist–specifically on the red carpet– and a shift from style choices made out of taste to those influenced by money. (BOF)

Health

23 Surprising Weight-Loss Tips That Are Actually Doable Simple tips on how to lose weight without being overly restrictive. #5 ‘Make eating out a thing you do for special (and special-ish) occasions,’ is what I need to work on. (BuzzFeed)

Art & Culture

Birth of an Imperial Nation A review of Steven Hahn’s book, A Nation Without Borders: The United States and Its World in an Age of Civil Wars, 1830–1910. “Just as the 19th-century European nation-states had to plunder and exploit the “third world” to quell various social upheavals at home, so too has the American nation-state needed to go hunting abroad in search of natural resources, new markets, and cheaper labor.” (The Nation)

Training to Be a Spy at the Brooklyn Museum After reading this article, I really want to make a trip to Brooklyn. (Hyperallergic)
Misc.
What % Emotional And What % Logical Are You? I usually don’t get sucked into quizzes, but as I was reading through articles today, I came across the logic vs. emotion quiz and curiosity got the best of me. (it’s here if you’re interested) Turns out I am: ‘39% emotional and 61% logical (BuzzFeed)
Leave a Reply

