Smiling Hara Hempeh

honest review smiling hara hempeh

I just finished my second meal made from Smiling Hara Hempeh and I’m ready to give an honest review! 

First, the name is clever. If you were wondering, Hempeh is tempeh with hemp seeds and peanuts. The flavor I went for was Smoked Salt + Pepper

smiling hara hempeh

Smiling Hara Hempeh combines tempeh with peanuts and hemp seeds.

My Overall Scores:

In the world of store-bought, Vegan/Vegetarian packaged products, I give Hempeh a 95%

For those of you interested in comparing it to an actual meat product, I give it a 90%

Specific Details:

+ I loved that one package contained 44 grams of protein.

+ I made two meals using this as the main ingredient.

+It had a good taste on its own. I didn’t marinate it in anything–just lightly seared it in butter.

+The texture was much better than other tempeh products I’ve had. It didn’t fall apart upon contact. In fact, it was pretty resilient.

+It was thick, so I think this made it more suitable for meat substitution.

+Left me full, but without the greasy, heavy feeling that eating meat can sometimes cause.

 If you’re trying to mimic the taste of meat, it probably doesn’t have quite the texture you’re looking for. Personally, I’m not trying to find a replacement for the taste of meat–the protein is more important to me.

It was a little bit dry in the center of the Hempeh, but the outsides were moist and tasty.

I ate it in two ways: In a salad and in a sandwich. My favorite was the sandwich, but this could have been because of the jalapeño crab dip I added.

A salad with hempeh, red leaf lettuce, spinach, broccoli, cucumber, and seared balsamic vinaigrette brussels sprouts.

Hempeh salad: Hempeh, red leaf lettuce, spinach, broccoli, cucumber, and seared balsamic vinaigrette brussels sprouts. Yum.

Poppy seed bun, jalapeño crab dip, seared hempeh, and spinach.

Hempeh burger. Poppy seed bun, jalapeño crab dip, seared Hempeh, and spinach. Simple, but tasty.

I purchased mine from a local health-food store. If you’re interested and would like to purchase your own, you can find it online at Smiling Hara Tempeh (also includes a store locator).

 

Leave a Reply

