Cycling and Eating in South Korea: Part I

Bike on a bridge over a river in South Korea.

A foggy day cycling in South Korea.

I have very fond memories of cycling and eating in the South Korean countryside. There are few things that are better than working up an appetite cycling, taking in gorgeous displays of nature, and then taking a well-deserved break to eat, in my opinion, some of the most delicious food on the planet. 

Below, I’ve written about one of my favorite areas for cycling and eating.

You have to do both to get the full experience! Oh, and if you don’t have a bike or don’t feel like carrying your bike on the subway or in your car, you can rent one near the station! I only cycled around the northern parts of South Korea, so if you have any other suggestions, leave a comment below!

 

A view of mountains and a river from a bike trail in South Korea.

A view from the bike path.

 

Cycling in Namyangju (남양주시) / Okcheon (옥천군):

I cycled from Paldang Station (팔당역) to Asin Station,(아신역) roughly 25km (16 miles). There are other stations in the area if you feel like cycling more or less.

*If you’re living in Bundang/Seoul and haven’t already downloaded:

I highly recommend you do so. These include transportation information about Seoul and the surrounding areas. It makes life a lot easier.

Map from Paldang Station to Asin Station, South Korea

Map of the cycling trip I took from Paldang Station to Asin Station, South Korea

I rented a bike near Paldang Station for ₩10,000 (~$8).

There’s a restaurant in front of Guksu Station that serves really delicious food. I can remember it clearly, but I can’t recall the name, so I’ll do my best to direct you there because it’s definitely worth the stop.

A restaurant,역전마당, is marked on the map (bottom of page), but I’m not sure if it’s the same one. I believe I ate at the one marked in red. Look for a white building, across from the station. The restaurant is very sparsely decorated with a separate screened-in area off to the side. If you can’t find it, at least try to find somewhere that serves Jeon (전: Korean Pancake) and Makgeolli (막걸리: raw Korean rice wine) …that’s the mission 😉

And now for the pictures of food… 😎

Memiljeonbyeong, kimchi, and makgeolli in South Korea

Memiljeonbyeong (메밀전병), kimchi (김치), and makgeolli (막걸리). ❤

Buchujeon, a Korean leek pancake

Buchujeon (부추전) is a Korean leek “pancake”

Map (from memory, so this is the approximate location)

map-of-restaurant-near-guksu-station-south-korea

Map for the restaurant across from Guksu station.

If you go (or have been before), let me know what you think! Also, please feel free to share any advice or experience you have about cycling around South Korea. 

잘 먹으세요~ Eat well!

Leave a Reply

