Jeju Island, South Korea: Transportation & Seongsan (성산)

jeju island part 1 getting around and seongsan with a waterfall in the background

I visited Jeju Island in the Summer of 2015. Like a lot of the trips I took while living in Korea, I went by myself and my visit was short. I was there for four days total, but only had two full days (the other two were travel days), so I had to make the most of my time.

This first part will be dedicated to getting around the island and my first destination, Seongsan (Seongsan Ilchulbong), a volcanic feature formed approximately 5,000 years ago.

jeju island part 1 getting around and seongsan with a waterfall in the background

Before I left, I planned out most of the details of my trip. This isn’t exactly ideal for people who enjoy spontaneity in traveling, but for a trip like this, it was definitely necessary.

Getting around: Public Transportation

Before I start, please note that it will be INCREDIBLY helpful if you learn how to read Hangul before visiting Jeju. It isn’t necessary, but it will help tremendously when trying to navigate

I didn’t rent a car, so I chose a location that had easy access to public transportation. I found a spot in old Jeju City, on Airbnb. It was about a block away from Jeju Intercity bus terminal (제주시외버스터미널) From this terminal, you can go just about anywhere on the Island with ease.

Helpful resources if you’re taking public transportation:

 

Day 1: Seongsan Ilchulbong

I woke up at 6:30am, not able or willing to go back to sleep!

At 7:45, I boarded the bus for Seongsan (성산).

I took the 710 bus from Jeju Intercity bus terminal (제주시외버스터미널).

Most of the buses leave from the back of the station unless it is going around the island (I was a bit confused at first because I was waiting at the bus stop, but the bus number wasn’t listed). The trip there cost 3,300won. *Tip* for buses that aren’t inter-city buses, you have to say what your destination is prior to scanning your card. Then, the driver changes the fee according to your destination, and you can scan your card. This is different if you are used to the Seoul bus system.

10:30– I hiked Seongsan (성산). It was beautiful but with the crowds of people stopping to take pictures every few steps, it seemed to be a bit removed from nature. I’m glad that I had the experience, but I wasn’t overly sad to leave.
stairs leading up seongsan

Climbing up the mountain can be a challenge, even with stairs.

a view looking down from seongsan, into aqua and dark blue water

Beautiful views can be seen from all sides of the mountain.

a panoramic view of seongsan ilchulbong

Seongsan Ilchulbong formed 5,000 years ago.

A closer view of Seongsan Ilchulbong

A closer view of Seongsan Ilchulbong

Danger sign overlooking the cliffs at Seongsan

Parts of the journey can be very steep.

Pastures surrounding seongsan

One of my favorite views. I loved the pastures surrounding the mountain.

Walking down Seongsan, a view of the edge of the mountain by the water

Walking down Seongsan

Pasture extending to the cliffs.

Pasture extends to the cliffs.

cliffs and beaches meet blue green waters at seongsan

 

Before taking off to the next destination, I took a break at a coffee shop with a fantastic view.
A coffee shop near Seongsan Jeju, South Korea

A coffee shop near Seongsan

Day 1 continued here:
jeju island part 2 kimnyung beach manjang cave ogyeopsal
One thought on “Jeju Island, South Korea: Transportation & Seongsan (성산)

  1. Pingback: Jeju Island, South Korea: Food – Audrey M. Williams

Leave a Reply

